• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What is she doing??

S

Sarah Bella

My WC a. panduro female is acting strangely. i *think* she's ready to breed but since this is my first time with these wonderful little guys im not sure.

First she has turned from a rather blah colouring to an intense yellow and throughout the day she shows a dark strip running horiontally thru her middle.

Next she is flip flopping all over the place trying to spear my male with her tail while swimming backwards. I saw her flip all the way over yesterday, swimming like a spiralling football down the length of the tank. She only does this in the presence of the male who has changed from a rather blah colouring as well to a more blueish hue. I've only had these guys for two weeks and she started this behavior yesterday.

In the event that she is getting ready to procreate do i need to do anything special?? In the tank there are the 4 otocinclus, 3 melini cories, 2 a. panduro and a highfin pleco (in a pear tree??).

I have bred bettas and its important to remove the parents. do i have to do this with the apistos? What are the chances (if she lays eggs) of survival if i leave everything the way it is???

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Congratulations, you are describing classic apisto courting behavior. A. panduro tend to form bonded pairs for the breeding cycle, so the male & female both take part in rearing the young. Your catfish & plecos are a danger to the fry & the parents will try to drive them away. Often this ends up with lost fry and/or catfish with damaged eyes.

S

Sarah Bella