• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie Here!!!

trickmandung

I have been surfing the net for quite a while looking for a good apisto website... then I found this site, so here I am posting my very first thread. I am not new with fish keeping. I have been keeping tank busters for as long as I could remember like Red Terrors, Red Devils, Oscars, and the likes, but all of sudden, the apisto bug bit me.

While researching, I saw a bunch of pics of different species of apistos online and the one that struck me the most were the Panduros and the Nijssenis. So after reading some horror stories on them, I've still ordered a pair of Panduros online. To my surprise, I was sent a young trio (1M 2F) so that was very nice. The first two days were fine and dandy but immediately right after the dominant female ate all the baby RCS (which put her into breeding mode), she turned yellow and began terrorizing the whole tank. She managed to kill the male which jumped out to his death, and then beat up the other female pretty good. I was at my gf house when all the action happened :frown: So when I got home, I put up a divider but it didn't help because both of them died after a few days. I think the death was caused by stress, the poor quality of the stock, and the liquid rock water that I was using.