• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie Breeding Questions (Dither/Water Conditioning)

PikeLee

5 Year Member
Hey guys,

I’m kind of new to breeding Dwarf Cichlids? I breed some of my Central American Cichlids (Convicts), but them things are like Rabbits. I wasn’t really into breeding my fish and had some of my Cr. Compressiceps spawn a couple of times before, but I think my Honeycomb Tatias ate the Eggs.

Now that I’m actually trying to breed these fish and possibly some of my other Dwarf Pikes (Nothos/Reganis) or Apistos, I was wondering if I could get some help.

1st. Most of the dwarf pikes like a PH in the 5.5-6 areas, temps in the mid 80’s, and Soft water. They seem to be pretty shy unless there’s some kind of dither/target fish. Does anyone actually use Dither/Target fish in a breeding tank? And if so, what do you use that can tolerate such water Conditions?

2nd. This may be a dumb be a dumb question, but “where is the RO Processor Placed?†I never seen this used before. Is it something that is put onto your water system or aquarium filter?

3rd. My Tap is Slightly Hard, with a PH around 7.8. I bring it down with some PH Down, and I have a water-softening pillow that I use to make it softer. I keep reading people using Peat to soften and lower the PH. Is Peat “Peat Moss†or is it something else?

I know this is a lot, but I figure I hit you guys up hard and for my first post. Make somewhat of an impression. 8)

tjudy

Staff member
5 Year Member
:)

I will address your questions...