• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

leaf litter

heslipst

5 Year Member
I have never used leaf litter in a tank before, but it is something that I am curious about. What sorts of leaves are typically used, and are there leaves which should be avoided for any reason?

Do some apistos respond to leafy hiding places better than others?

-Steve

MyLifeAsAFish

5 Year Member
heslipst, I'm using oak leaves in my tank. They kind of curl up and make great hiding places. If you'll look at the post titled "thanks to Neil" in this section, you'll find a link to pics of my tank with the leaves. I think it really adds that "natural" feel to the tank.

hth, Spring

farm41

5 Year Member
Oak leaves for me too. I have them in 3 tanks and also went and and collected a big bag full to last until next year.

GulfCoastAquarian

5 Year Member
Do you perform any sort of cleaning or preperation before placing the leaves in the tank? I think I'd like the look of a few oak leaves on the bottom of my planted tank. What sort of Oak? The most common down here in the deep south are Live Oaks, I think.

Neil

GulfCoastAquarian,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

I usually will rinse them off before throwing them in, but I doubt that is even necessary. Anything that is living on a leaf probably will not present much problem submerged, but I figure it is better to be safe than sorry. I don't go to the trouble of briefly boiling though and have never had any problems.
Neil

Park Bear

5 Year Member