• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Gold cacatuoides - what is the inheritance?

mtchye

5 Year Member
Hi everyone,

Here in Australia, we frequently have some gold cacatuoides available - these are not albinos. Unfortunately they are usually riddled with genetic deformities, and a good specimen is hard to find.

I found a great looking male and have crossed it with a female of the normal variety. What can i expect as far as phenotypes and genotypes of the babies from the cross??

THis is my first time spawning cacatuoides, so any tips on getting the babies to survive will be helpful. I've removed the male and they are in a bare bottom tank on their own with java moss for cover at the moment.

Thanks for any help!

tripleredcac.jpg

tripleredgoldmale.jpg

Neil

mtchye,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

Hey, you are the 500th member of our "little" forum. WOW 8O :!: :!: :!:

YG cacs ("gold cacatuoides") are very prone to deformities because they are so heavily hybridized. There are some very nice ones around though. Breeding a YG male to a regular female will give you genotype fry that look mostly like red cacs (TR). Breeding these genotypes to YG, should give a certain percentage of YG fry without the heavy defect percentage.
Please read the following article for further info.

http://www.apistogramma.com/yellowgoldcockatoo.htm

Your breeding set-up and post spawn care will be similar to regular cacatuoides, so can easily be found with a search (above). For specifics, please post again.

Neil

Neil

Ghazanfar,

I havent seen this strain available too often. Anyone know where
I can get a couple of pairs from?