• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

first eggs

farm41

5 Year Member
Well my orange cacs finally got more than a little friendly. I have one guarding about a dozen eggs in her flower pot.

Should I let her take care of them, or pull the pot and put in a QT?

It's my first time. :oops:

Neil

Congratulations farm,
It is tough to say whether or not to pull the eggs. Typically I do not! But I have with fish that are not doing what they are supposed to. If they are in a good situation in the breeding tank, then I think that it will be adding an element of risk to move them. But then again there is an element of risk in leaving them. IMO it is so much nicer to have the parents raise the fry for the first few weeks and watch all the interesting behaviors involved. But you have to do what you "feel" is best. Good luck. Neil

farm41

5 Year Member
They are not in a breeding tank, they are in a 60g with the male and 2 other females, plus 2 bristlenose, 10 ottocinclus, 3 SAE's, Amano shrimp, and MTS's. I am most worried about the bristlenose. So far she is defending the eggs against all who get close, but, I'm not sure she could turn away a bristlenose if it wanted in.

farm41

5 Year Member
I transfered them to a 10g bare bottom and threw in some java moss. I can see the eggs in the reflection on the bottom and she keeps doing something to them. It looks like she is mouthing them or blowing on them or something.

aspen

5 Year Member