• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Ammonia reading in breeding tank.

Dkelly97

Hi all, I’m new to this and wasn’t prepared for the breeding. Long story incoming…
About a week ago I noticed one of my females on eggs, so in the excitement I set up a 20L breeder tank for her to go in. It has a sponge filter for a 60L tank and I seeded it for a week with a 300g bag of filter media sitting next to the sponge filter. Was ghost feeding saw a small ammonia spike on day 2, and then nothing except a low nitrate reading another 5 days later. Anyway, in that time these eggs obviously hatched and reached free swimming stage, these fish were in a community tank and unfortunately I believe they were all eaten, this was also this females first batch of fry. Anyway, 2 days ago I noticed my other female on eggs, however seemed like she was still trying to get the male to fertilise them so I let her be. Today I found she had some wrigglers so immediately moved her and the eggs (in the hide she was in) over to the new breeder tank, prior to testing the water. Anyway, I have the following water values, PH 7.2 (a bit high but as far as I can tell, still ok?), Ammonia 0.25ppm, nitrites 0ppm, Nitrates 5ppm, GH 4, KH 5. I have done some quick research and done a 50% water change with water from my 240L biotype tank where the values are PH 6.4, ammonia 0, Nitrites, 0, Nitrates 5, GH 3, KH 5. And dosed the breeder tank with the correct dosage of prime (I know it’s not a fix, but potentially a help?) can someone please offer insite into anything else I can do or what I should do differently in future?

Thanks in advance

Dan

Mike Wise

Staff member