• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

when might the aggazzizi spawn again?

Discus Man

5 Year Member
I have a pair of agazizzi in a 10g densly planted tank with lots of driftwood. pH of 7.6 , Gh of under 2, KH of 2.
They spawned for the first time last weekend but the eggs died after three days and the female ate them as they fungused. I am prepping them again starting yesterday on red earthworms and they are starting to head back ino the cave again. When might they try again?

jowens

5 Year Member
I'm no expert, Discus Man, but I think I've read here that Agassizzi - although they will spawn in different water conditions - cannot produce viable eggs in water that contains much or any hardness. So they could probably spawn again at any time, but without using RO water, you might have a tough time getting any of the eggs to hatch.

Neil will give you a better answer.

Discus Man

5 Year Member
I thought a GH of under 2 and a KH of 2 was super soft.
I add pure rain water with a pH of 6.6 but there is trace amounts of sand in the tank that seems to buffer at a KH of 2 and pH of 7.6 , Gh isn't measurable as the two tests that I have say that hardness of under two cannot be measured byt these tests so I know that I have under two as one drop changes colour two drops is very obvious. Therefore I state under two.