• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What do you feed your Apistogramma's?

West1

I can't find anything about Diets on here so if you can post your feeding schedule.
Size of Apistogramma (feeding should vary based on Juvi/Adult)
exact food(s), times per day etc...

I am new to Apisto's and my first set should be here next week.

My hope is to try and get them to eat the DIY Gelatin foods I used to feed my 16" Vittatus African Tiger Fish and tankmates. I am leaning on more of a veggie diet and in small portions as the Gelatin foods usually last a week in the fridge. Maybe I am over thinking this as I am fresh out of "Monster Fish" and used to feeding large portions (just shut down my 300gl about 3 weks ago).

Anyways, feel free to post your feeding schedule for all to see :wink:

Hmoobthor

what i been feeding is New life spectrum cichlids pellets. I been using it for a while and don't notice much of color improvement. I am going to add Hikari sinking gold pellet to their diet to see if color will improve.

I only feed my fish once a day in the evening alternating between frozen bloodworm and brine shrimp here and there.

slimbolen99

5 Year Member
If you can get them, and keep them alive, live California black worms are excellent. I also do frozen brine shrimp, frozen blood worms, and occasionally live brine shrimp. Any kind of flake food should be good, or pellets if you can get them to eat that. A varied diet goes a long way to healthy apistos, in my opinion, so I mix it up quite a bit. Good luck!

bettamuse

5 Year Member
I feed two times a day.
Earthworm flake in the mornings.