• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Some starting questions

N

Nevrast

Hi all,
i'll start by introducing: my names Pedro, i live in Portugal-Lisbon and i'm a student of environmental engenearing.

In this stage i'm gathering info on what to set up my aquarium, it has 205 liters (i think about 55 gallons).

i'm having some doubts on the lighting, i have read several sites and must state that i'm a bit confused :), i'd like to make the aquarium with a great deal of plants and am thinking to get 120 watts of lighting (fluorescent and full spectrum) is this enough? (for the majority of plants i mean).

Nother doubt the substrate: a shop dealer told me that it would be nice to put peat and then covering with sand, i'm kind of afraid that the peat starts to wander off if the fish start to excavate or when planting\moving things on to new places. on the other hand, my water is ph 7,5 (tapwater) with the adition of peat would it become more acidic? (this should be nice to the dwarf cichilds right?)
Another thing , will the water become yellow due to the tannins? is it possible to acidify\soften the water trough peat and remove the coloration with activated carbon or is this conterproducent?
Another thing that i read is that if placed in a cannister filter (i have one of those by the way) it will acidify\soften the water rapidly, the question is: is it too rapidly if there are fish in it? anyway if i do this it's in the first weeks when the aquarium is cycling, so it would be any problem right?