• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Remineralisation salts for RO water

michaelg210

I came across this awesome thread in google. I am a novice but positive I have come to the right place, this thread was talking about home-made-remineralization...... I understood enough to know finally someone can answer my question.

Are Seachem's Equilibruim and Kent Marine's R/O Right, virtually identical products? (I wanted Seachem, but no one sells it in my area, so had to go with Kent Marine's).

Kent tech support won't tell me anything beyond the MSDS and Seachem Claims "other" products, (i.e. Kent Marine's) use sodium chloride.

Kent also tells me that R/O Right has all necessary trace/mineral elements needed for a planted tank.

My question is basically, if using R/O water, and Kent Marine's R/O Right, is that all I need or should I be adding some other elements / minerals / etc.

Sorry for the bother, but I could learn a lot here, or at least what little I need to know.

Thanks

mjg

PS small tank, 10G has 2 crypts, 2 java ferns, 1 anubia, 1 Betta, 1 Dwarf Pleco, an AC 20 filter, and a heater, using 2x 10W, 6500K Zoo Med's Sun Lights. (in case that matters)

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
The problem is that very few companies will tell you what their products actually contain.

If you want to go DIY there is a very good site in the UK (James' Planted Tank) with all the details for cheaper versions of many of the products sold by Kent etc.

Have a look here: <http://www.jsctech.co.uk/theplantedtank/RO.htm>

cheers Darrel

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member