• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I just got my first pair

Derek

5 Year Member
I just picked up a pair of WC a. pandurini this weekend. This is my first attempt with apistos, and I have a few questions:

The LFS had both pandurini and panduro. Aren't they the same thing?

What would the best diet be for this fish? I tried some frozen brine shrimp, and they were not interested at all. I emailed the LFS and they have been feeding frozen brine, frozen bloodworms, flake, and live black worms. I picked up some black worms and there is no doubt that they love those. I just don't know if that is the best thing for them to be eating. It seems that they might be easier to take care of than hatching BS though.

My last question is whether I should get another female, or just stick with the pair. I had planned on a trio of cacatuoides, but all they had left was a couple of males. I am keeping them in a heavily planted 20H with plenty of hiding spots. Right after the male feasted on his worms, he was pretty relentless in his pursuit of the female. I don't know if adding another girl would be a good idea. I don't really care about breeding, I just don't want this female to get beat up.

scott

5 Year Member
derek,