• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Double or Triple?

bizfromqc

Would this be considered a double red or triple red? Came from a batch labeled "double" red but it seems to me it could be considered a triple since the anal fin has some red as well?

6856_10_02_12_8_48_27.jpeg

Can someone point me to a web page or article that explains the different color morphs? Specifically I'd like to read about the color genes and how they come about determining color in fish (dominant, recessive).

Complete newbie in all of this and would appreciate input from the experienced breeders/keepers out there.

Thank you

Attachments

• 6856_10_02_12_8_48_27.jpeg
    6856_10_02_12_8_48_27.jpeg
    96.3 KB · Views: 338

aquaticclarity

Staff member
5 Year Member
Yes, "triple" for what it's worth. It's the number of fins that have the red color on them that make up the name. I'm not sure if the ventral fins will get counted as one or two fins once someone gets the red stabilized in them.

bizfromqc

Thanks for the info. I know it really doesn't have a "meaning" per se but I just wanted to get an opinion on it.

I'm more interested in how genes play a role in the final coloration. Specifically, I want to know what I may get when my fry grows older

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Tail chequering is dominant (and presumably single or few genes), but I'm not sure about colour (I would assume multi-gene control). From my own experience if you start with "Double Red" parents (I've also bought one Orange flash male) and select for healthiness and body shape, rather than fin colour, you end up with male fish with orange, heavily chequered tail fins.