• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

cacatuoides ladies died.

Karin

5 Year Member
Hi everyone. I am new to Apistos, almost. Five month ago I decided to buy a pair of young cacatuoides to put on my 70 X 30 X 40 cm tank, with a few “homemade” lebistes, lots of plants, rocks and wood. The female died a month later. The male is still doing ok.

As I expected, and don’t mind, there are no more baby lebistes and only adult big female Red Cherries. A second cacatuoides lady did last also a month. Same way, doing right until a day or two then she stayed at the bottom, all colored up and died.

Nitrates are less than 12. 5 mg/L, tap water is soft, pH around 7.3. once a week water change.

I was wondering if the male, which happens to be not very big, could be the cause… I’d waited a while and decided not to give up. So, put to caves in opposite sides of the tank (terracotta pots), lots of oak leafs, rearrange a little and add two new females… He turned black and flapping at them his tail and fins, chasing after them both, but also hitting them on their sides. I am not sure if that is ok, or will kill them for stress. What am I suppose to expect or do? I will appreciate any ideas, thanks!

MickeM

5 Year Member
Hi Karin+all..

The tail-flapping and chasing is normal in this situation..since they are now entering "his" territorium.. he is "testing" if they will "play by his rules" so to speak..