• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Ivanacara adoketa pair or not?

klaus34dk

Im new to dwarf cichlids and i bought a pair of Ivanacara adoketa but im not sure if it is er par or same sex.
I have uploaded a video, hopefully you can tell me which sex they are.

wethumbs

5 Year Member
Same sex or not, it is very unlikely that they will form a pair at this size. In order to get a well bonded pair of Ivanacara adoketa, you have to get a group of them and let them pair of once they get older. Otherwise, you have just two fish.

klaus34dk

Thanks. When i bought them there was at least 6 in the tank, 3 of them was standing out and with light colours and swimming normaly, the others was hiding and almost black, so they were sure the 2 i got was i pair. But for my untrained eyes they look as they are the same sex.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
I think what wethumbs means is that males will not accept just any female, and vice versa. A bonded pair works well in a medium size tank, but a non-bonded pair usually ends up as 1 fish.

wethumbs

5 Year Member
Mike, you read my mind.

Ivanacara adoketa is a difficult species not because they are hard to spawn, it is because they are very picky about their mate. You are better off buying all in the tank and work out a deal as a group buy. Otherwise, you just have two fish now and later one. The dark / light color is just an indication of their mood, it has nothing to do with sex. People are sure on everything just to make a sale, chances are they have no idea how to sex the fish at that size.

limchongyu

5 Year Member