• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

How many Apistos in a 55 gal?

ReiChugo

5 Year Member
I am a beginner and have decided to get a 55 gallon tank for apistos and some support cast of tetras, hatchets, algae crew etc

My question is this:

In a 55 could I keep multiple species of apistos? I am interested in Viejita and maulbruters and was wondering if I could have both in my tank simultaneously? I am also interseted in cacateuds if that woudl be a better combo.

Also I was wondering if there was link on setting up a blackwater tank? Just interested in this nutrient rich environment.

peace
rei

mk_ultra

5 Year Member
I can tell you from my own experience that 2 female Viejitas is enough in a 55. Mine got very nast whith each other. As long as they stayed in their neautral corners all was nice.

farm41

5 Year Member
How soft is your water?

I like to have just a trio of apisto's and then a pair of rams in a tank that size. If the water is soft enough for the rams.

Neil

I have also found viejitas to be aggressive, but not much more than cacatuoides. A pair of each may well work in a 55, because vijitas and cacatuoides are both more aggressive towards species conspecifics and the 2 species are fairly different. However, maulbruter can be a big, mean fish and would be less of an appropriate choice for a combination. But, as I always say, it is the individual personalities of the fih that is more important than the supposed species behavioral qualities that makes all the difference in choosing tankmates.
Neil

radiodug

5 Year Member