• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Glass covering

jersysman

I am planning on setting up a planted tank. I will be purchasing some T5NO lights - probably a Coralife setup. My question is these lights sit above the tank. Should I have a glass covering on the top of the tank since I won't have a hood on top covering the top, or do you keep the top of the tank bare. Forgive me if this question has been previously asked. I am very new to this type of setup.

tjudy

Staff member
5 Year Member
The only issues with not having a cover on the tank are jumping fish and evaporation. I do not use glass canopies over my 75 planted display tank, but I also do not use a heater and have minimal water movement with the filtration (and no bubbles) so the evap is minimized.

jersysman

Yeah, I am worried about the jumping fish. I have a glass top for my aquarium but don't know if they would interfere with the legs from the life fixture. I want to get a Coralife dual T5HO fixture

I have this "type" of setup and I do not use a cover. IMO the cover takes away a "look" a tank has without a cover. Plus, the cover will reflect and block out some of the light. Click the first or last link in my "signature" to see my 29 gallon planted tank with a T5HO light.

gerald

5 Year Member