• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

water hardness and pH problems

Fishcatman

5 Year Member
Hello all. I am new to the hobby and new the to forum.
I have a wter quality question

so.. I have a 55 ga tank that I am preparing to have some rams and apistos in. I got the tank, established with 3 big cichlids that were fighing so I game then away and an preparing to start a new community. Right now I have some plattys, guppies and a few cardinal tetra, many plants.
I believe my tank has appropriate bacteria because my readings are

Ammonia 0-0.25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20

OK my problem is water pH and hardness.

I live in the ohio river valley and the tap water is very hard (400+ppm) lots of ca++, the alkalinity is ~120, and the pH is 7.2.

so I would like softer, more acidic water for my dwarf cichlids coming soon, so I have been working on water chemistry.

originally my tank
pH 6.8
alkilinity 80ppm
total hardness ~400

I am glad the pH is on the low side (however I have no real good reason why)
but I wanted to decrease the gH, and possible increase the kH

so I did a 20% water change, which I thought would give me more kH,
I also go a "softener pillow" and put in the filter

today, by gH came down to 120, but alkalinity dropped to 0!! and pH dropped to 6.4

QUESTION- how do I gert my gH to be down. without dropping my alkalinity to 0??
I understand this is difficult to do especially with my tap water,
should I add pH up buffer stuff? or do more frequent water changes?

chris1932

Apisto Club
Staff member
5 Year Member