• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Sample Fish List PLEASE HELP

R

rocketfu

:oops:
Hi all,
I am new to the dwarf cichlid world. I love how the dwarf Cichlids look but I am having a great deal of trouble getting a configuration for a 10 gallon aquarium. I am a college student and I am not trying to breed them, just look at them. I would like to have a community tank if it is possible (bottom feeders, tiger barbs, and dwarf cichlids) is this possible? I really like the Cacutuoides Triple Red dwarfs. I just really need a sample of the kind and number of fish that I can put in this aquarium. I really appreciate all of your help,

Thanks in advance,

rocketfu

Neil

rocketfu,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

That is a very good first choice! You can safely put a group of 6 in a 10g. But a trio might be the most interesting. 2 males and several females would be pressing your luck in that tank. You could also keep just males, but you are robbing yourself of some really interesting behaviors by not keeping both sexes. Even if you are not interested in breeding, I would go the trio route. You WILL get the breeding bug when you are exposed to these fish for awhile.
Tiger barbs may be a little too much with apistos. They can get a little mean and are very active at meal time. I would go with a tetra or rasbora species. But there are any number of other community type fish that you have to choose from.
Cory's or other small bottom feeders will be fine too. Just make sure that the apistos don't have too much competition for food or space. T