• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New with questions

MudFrog

5 Year Member
Hi My name is Lisa and I have been surfing here for a few days. And thought I would introduce myself and ask a few questions. I am fairly new to cichlids, having had them about 15 yrs ago.

I am thinking about getting a "opal" cichlid for a 90 gallon that will soon be empty. This tank has had livebearers in it and up for about a year. It's 40% planted. At this time it has sponge filters but a power filter came with it so I could put it on if needed.

Is a shallow tank a must? :confused:

I don't know my water cemistry except to say the water is hard. I tried angels, and they lived but decided to give them to someone who had soft water to breed them.

I asked on another fourm what I should stock this 90 gallon with and was given a very interesting answer of dwarf cichlids and silver tetras. I have been looking through the database and found a few that I liked but the water required states soft.

Any suggestions? On fish or tank mates.

Thanks in advance.

Apistt_ed

hello Lisa,

I'll try my best to try to answer some of your questions. Well, first off, you do not need a shallow tank at all to keep apistos. your 90gallon Tank should be more than fine for a trio of apistos and maybe even another pair.