• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to dwarf cichlids

J

jrsq

Hi,
I am new to SA cichlids but have bred and raised africans for years. I'm really impressed with the colors of some of the appistos and would like to breed and raise them but want to do the research first.

I have a 75 gallon tank I would like to dedicate to a biotope tank and a small amount of experience with a planted amazon tank for the last year
(120xh discus/plants/cardinals/cupids)

My specific questions are:

1. Are there any other sites that are good that I should visit to research?

2. Is having wild caught breeders as big a deal as it is with africans - If yes where do you recommend?

3. Do you recommend RO water and if so how important do you think it is?

4. Other than a group or pair of appistos what else can be put in along with them? I want the first priority to be breeding the appistos and raising their fry, next to have a biotope tank that looks impressive.

I understand that some of these questions will have different answers depending on the specific appistos that are chosen but I thought it was where to start.

Now, what have I missed

Neil

jrsq,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

Sorry we (I) missed this post!! :oops:

1. Are there any other sites that are good that I should visit to research?

I might be biased but this is about as good as it gets! 8) You could also try the Apisto mailing list or just run google searches for specific topics.

2. Is having wild caught breeders as big a deal as it is with africans - If yes where do you recommend?