• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to Apistos...need some suggestions please.

I

inked1

Hello all! Nice site/discussion board you have here! This site has helped me greatly.

I have been keeping cichlids for about 10 years now and have kept and bred many types from Tanganyikans to Discus. I have a 75gal tank that I will be remodelling and turning into a planted tank. I plan to have a community setup, but I feel no tank is complete without some sort of cichlid. I have kept and bred Rams before, but have never tried any of the Apistogrammas. I was wondering if some of you could give me some suggestions as to what to stock the tank with.

I have an interest in several variations at the moment, but am new to Apistogrammas, so I'm sure I have missed several species during my research. Could you suggest how many pairs I might be albe to house given adequate caves and such? Are certain Apistos better to keep with groups of others? Here is a list of what I am interested in so far. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Apisto Borelli "Yellow" (Opal Borelli)
Apisto Cacatuoides "Triple Red"
Apisto Panduro
Apisto sp. Morado
Apisto Agassizi "Double Red"

Thanks!

Neil

inked1,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM