• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Apistogramma Eunotus?

Raven

Hi,
I'm new to apistos and fish keeping in general.

A bit of background... I've had my 37 gallon tank for a few months now. It has some tetras, some catfish, a couple of female bettas, an angel fish, a severum and a keyhole cichlid. I've had a male macmasteri in the tank for about a month. He has been doing really well but I haven't been able to get a female for him. Last weekend I decided to pick up a male and female pair of eunotus for the tank. They didn't get along very well with the macmasteri, so today I decided to trade the macmasteri in for another female eunotus. I was pretty attached to the little guy, but I decided that this was for the best.

Here's a picture of the tank, all the plants are live:
fish-3.jpg

I've been lurking around the forum for a while now, been reading it whenever I was curious about something or had questions. I guess I've just reached a point where I've had too many questions, and I decided to post something. :)

First, our local fish store labled these as eunotus. Are they? Is there anyway to tell whether they are wild caught? Any advice about how to keep them healthy and happy would be appreciated.

Here're some pictures and more questions :)
The male:
That little bit of purple/red coloring near his tail, is that normal? or is that like a bruise? (I know it's kind of hard to see from this picture...)
Apistos-2.jpg