• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Nanochromis splendens

ChillOut29

Hi. I’m new to this hobby. I currently have a pair of d18 in my 29 gallon. ( 5 baby cory and a bristlenose). I just came across these beautiful fish named Nanochromis splendens. So my question is, is it possible for me to put a pair of these together with the d18 in the same tank?

Attachments

• IMG_3830.jpeg
    IMG_3830.jpeg
    203.8 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_3803.jpeg
    IMG_3803.jpeg
    248 KB · Views: 35

ChillOut29

Hi. I’m new to this hobby. I currently have a pair of d18 in my 29 gallon. ( 5 baby cory and a bristlenose). I just came across these beautiful fish named Nanochromis splendens. So my question is, is it possible for me to put a pair of these together with the d18 in the same tank?

MacZ

Not in tjat tank size. Nanochromis are much smaller than your Apistogramma and they inhabit the same niche. Probably going to end lethal for the smaller fish.

MacZ

If you have a second tank that you can move one to any time, give it a try. if not a 80-100cm tank would be advisable.

anewbie

There is a secondary issue that Nanochromis splendens is a west african fish so the signals between a sa fish will be lost or mis-understood. I.e, even in a larger tank you risk unnecessary conflict between the two species since they can't use display attributes to warn of aggression.

ChillOut29