• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

hey everybody

naggur

5 Year Member
hey there!

just cose I'm an rookie at dwaefs I want to know every thing about apisto, micro and ect. I got my 1st fwarf two weeks ago and really like this fish type ( I begun with glodfish then livebreaders and tetras), but I was wondering what is the minimum size tank for 1 fish ( knowing there is no max size tank) what I should look for if and when I get new fish, what kind of cichlids I can mix to geather ( only dwarfs), terretoy size and ect.

another thing isn't scill level something I should follow or is't b.s. ( sorry the language)?

scott

5 Year Member
naggur,

sorry noone has answered your question yet. i'll do my best to give you some info. ideally i like to use 20gal long tanks to house my dwarves. what i usually do is get six juveniles, let them pair of naturally and depending on the species move the pair to their own 10 or 20 gal tank. in a 20 i sometimes keep a trio with some target fish. in a 10 i would only keep a pair. i suppose you could keep a single fish in a 5 but it wouldn't be very interesting as you would not be able to see its natural behaviors as it interacts with other fish. dwarves are much more interesting when kept in groups or at the very least pairs. and to answer your question about mixing species, i don't think it's a very good idea as cichlids can become very agressive at spawnig time and the more agressive species will surely terrorize (probably kill)the more peaceful species. this is just my opinion based on my own experiences, others may say you can mix species in very large tanks. i hope this helps a little.

scott