• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Have ?'s on Boreli's and Pelv. t. 'Lobe'

Orchid

5 Year Member
Hello to one and all, I have been reading through your archives and am awed at how polite and respectful you all are towards each other, good job. Many of the other fish forums I have visited/joined can get so rude.

I am not new to aquarium keeping, but I am relatively new to dwarf cichlids, especially the Africans. I have just picked up a pair of Pelvicachromis t. Lobe, three Dicrosa filamentosas(one male and hopefully two females), and four Borelis.

My Lobes went into a planted 10 gal tank that has eight or nine shy Trichopsis pumilus (pygmy gouramis). All seems well for now between the two species, most likely I will move the Lobes to their own planted tank and use this tank to move the male Lobe to and from after a spawning. The female certainly is colorful, but the male is a dull grey color unless he gets all excited about a feeding, then he blushes a bit of yellow/orange. When will he reach sexual maturity and what will his coloring be?
They shake their bodies at each other but I doubt they have spawned yet. I love how devoted they seem to be towards each other, it remindes me of my mated pair of African pipefish in my reef tank. What other behavior can I expect to see when they do spawn?