• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

German Rams and Eunotus

PikeLee

5 Year Member
I'm thinking of getting some apistos. I would like to get some German Blue Rams and some Apistogramma cf.eunotus "Orangetail".

Does anyone think that these guys be housed together in the same tank (90G)? Or should I just keep one species in the 90G. In case you're wondering. I'm redoing my 90G to be a heavily planted tank. I figured I'd throw in some dwarf cichlids so that they can really enjoy the space and rear there fry with ease.

I'm new to Apistos, and wondering if the Orangetail is a harem breeder like other Apistos, and if it is a good apisto to start out with. I tried doing some research, but didnt find much on this particular one on the web. I hear the water conditions are pretty much the same (low hardness, slightly acidic, 80 degrees) and they are undemanding fish, but no specifics. I just don't want to purchase them and then have them die due to water conditions and such.

My Tap Conditions are below:
PH: 7.6
GH: 6
KH: 3

I've read that Rams and Cacautoides can be kept at my Tap condtions. Has anyone had experience with acclimating the Orangetails to those conditions and having them spawn? I rather not mess with the PH and all, but if it' necessary I mess with Peat Moss or Discuss Buffer. I just learned about the Oak leaves from this Site. :D I'll have to find some time to read through those posts.

Many thanks in advance.

Neil

PikeLee,