• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Feeding Live Brine Shrimp to Apistogramma Agassizii's

snapper

5 Year Member
Guys,

I have been feeding my apistogramma agassizi's with frozen brine shrimp and I just picked up some live brine shrimp. Should I strain the brine shrimp prior to putting them into the tank for a feeding? I am still kind of new with these fish and never fed any ciclids live brine shrimp. Any suggestions on what to do or not to do, is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Bev N

Apisto Club
5 Year Member
Hey there,

Strain them using a brine shrimp net and rinse very well. Only do this with what your going to feed right away as the rest have to stay in salt water.

It's been so long since I've used them I'm not sure how long they will last. I'm sure someone else will be able to tell you that.

leamos

5 Year Member
Should really enrich the brine shrimp before feeding as brine shrimp (over 24hrs old) are very nutritionally poor. Put the required amount of shrimp in a small container of saltwater and add a product like this - http://www.brineshrimpdirect.com/c8/Super-SELCO-c52.html or feed them some spirulina flakes ground up and mixed up as a paste, leave them 12 - 24hrs to feed up then strain and use. Otherwise you may as well be feed your apistos cardboard. Frozen brine have been enriched prior to freezing to over come this

dw1305

5 Year Member
keeping Adult Brine shrimp