• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A. Cacatoides not eating

Will

I recently picked up 2 pairs of Cockatoos and they look great. I am new to apistos so maybe it's their behavior that I am unfamiliar with. They pick at the food and the males like some food I give them but they don't seem to be hogs like my Bolivians. All of them sift through the sand and pick out some chunks of food. My main concern is the tiny females. The food I have tried: Flakes, pellets, algae wafers, and freeze dried blood worms(they liked these a lot). Thanks!

deliriouz

Make sure they are not getting harassed by the males. Separate if so to condition them up to size. For food, try mossie larvae..not many fish say no to them.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Also, apistos aren't really fond of processed foods. It sometimes takes a while for them to eat dry foods immediately after being added to the aquarium. They more typically wait until it has softened/disintegrated and sift it from the sand as small particles. Sand sifting is a normal behavior for apistos. They are a geophagine cichlid after all. Try frozen or live foods to start them off.

Will

Ok, could I get by with freeze dried or do you suggest trying to get frozen? Is there a big difference?

gerald

5 Year Member
Yes some fish that will not eat dry food (flake, pellet, freeze-dried) will eat frozen or live foods. Nutritionally it may not be a big difference, but it can make a big difference in whether a fish will swallow it. Especially important with newly-acquired small fish that may have been starved during shipping.

abrooks12376