• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Soft tap water

SMIGUMZ

5 Year Member
I tested my tap water with an API gh/kh test kit and both test are 0-3. Is there any reason I would use R/O water or is my tap water ok? It also test neutral and I have driftwood and some moss balls to lower it to 6.5. I don't want to be over zealous but I think I'm really lucky. My tank (30g) should be done cycling in 3 more weeks or so. Are there any other things I should be looking out for? I'm planning on keeping a pair of cacatuoides. Thanks any input and advice is greatly appreciated. This is my first time keeping apistogramma

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
I tested my tap water with an API gh/kh test kit and both test are 0-3. Is there any reason I would use R/O water or is my tap water ok? ........My tank (30g) should be done cycling in 3 more weeks or so. Are there any other things I should be looking out for? I'm planning on keeping a pair of cacatuoides. Thanks any input and advice is greatly appreciated. This is my first time keeping apistogramma
Have a look at <"Dwarf Cichlid Aquarium Care"> & <"All the Leaves are Brown">.

Your tap water is OK "as is".

If you mean cycling in terms of adding ammonia to the tank? stop doing it, if you mean letting the tank establish? just carry on.

If you don't have established filter material, with a new tank you can add some leaf litter and plants (floaters are ideal), make sure you have plenty of oxygenation and and after a couple of weeks your tank will be ready to add the fish too.

Plants and microbes are much more efficient then "microbe only" systems for biological filtration.