• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Macmasteri breeding prob

W

waynedavis

Hello i am just new to this site and am looking for some advice.
I have a pair of macmasteri and they (she) keeps spawning. However he shows all the signs displaying and danceing etc but when she actually goes to lay the eggs he never seems to fertilise them. They are big adult fish the ph is around 6 and they are in great shape. She spawns (i think she hides away and goes a brilliant yellow) every 10-15 days but i have still to see any fry.
Any advice?
Thanks for any help.

Peter Lovett1

5 Year Member
Hi Wayne,

There is always the very small possibility that your male is infertile but it is more likely that the water hardness and/or ph.

Could I ask what your hardness and pH are

Regards,

Peter

W

waynedavis

The water is very soft around 3 and my ph is about 6. I know the water conditions are perfect it just seems he doesnt know what to do. There is a possiblity that he does fertilise them but i just dont catch it, but i have never seen the fry. She is in her nest again so i will see if she emarges with fry in the next few days. If not i will try to remove the eggs the next time and see if they hatch artifically.
Thanks for your help.

Apistt_ed

hello wayne,