• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

How to set up tank

L

Little G

I am new to the world of Cichlids, so new infact that I don't have any yet. I prefer to research my chosen family/species before I get any.
I have no idea how to go about setting up a tank for Apistos. I want something hardy and small and cute, and these fish fit the bill. After this summer my goldfish will be too big for their 20G which currently houses them...living in a pond makes them grow like mad. Soooo I am going to buy a bigger tank for the GF and hopefully hoouse some apistos in the 20G. I've heard of people using dried oak or almond leaves in the water..not sure why.
How do I go about hardening or softening the water as they case may be? I don't know how to alter water chem which is why I have goldfish and nothing more difficult. I really want to set up the 20G as a SA biotope, with tetra dithers, amazon swords no corys though because if the cichlids breed I don't want them being injured.
Is peat filter required? How does one go about that. I have SOOOO many questions and am open too all info anyone can throw my directions.
thanks in advance!!

Apistt_ed

Little G said:
I am new to the world of Cichlids, so new infact that I don't have any yet. I prefer to research my chosen family/species before I get any.