• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

dwarf cichlid question

B

bdew

hi all, i'm new to dwarf cichlids, but they've been some of the favorite fish i've ever had.

My question is regarding a strange pattern of behaviour occuring in my tank. I have two round-body golden rams, and one of what i think is a german gold ram.
When i first got the german gold ram, it was very green in color, with faint stripes on its body, and no clear black dots or black stripe on the front of the dorsal fin. The round body golden rams were very colorful, with bright orange noses. These two were clearly the dominant fish in the tank, and they would chase the german gold ram away every time it would come near their territories. However, after installing two moonlights in the tank (not sure if this is the cause, but it seems that way), it seems the tables have turned. The two round-bodied rams are now pale and less active, and overnight the german ram developed two black spots on each side, and a vertical black stripe through his eyes. The german ram is also much more yellow than green now. He (although smaller) is now the dominant fish in the tank, chasing the two larger round bodied rams around.

Does anyone have any experience with this situation? Are these fish even compatable? Are certain species more light sensitive? Any help would be really appreciated, and i'm sorry if this post seems confusing, but i'm somewhat new to these species. Thanks
-B

ps- 29 gallon tank w/ 11 neon tetras and 2 otos, temp 78, ph 6.9, heavily planted, well filtered, little to no ammonia, and water not too hard.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member