• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma I.D.

AndrewPayne007

Hello,

I bought a pair of A. Agassizii about two months ago from an aquarium superstore near me. The tank's dithers were labelled at the same store as Nannostomus Eques, but after a bit of research I've identified them as N. Beckfordi. Needless to say, I don't really trust that my apistos are Agassizii after all. The male's tail does not come to a point, the pattern is off and he resembles Eunotus Orangeshwanz or maybe even geisleri or emerald anquer more to me. That being said, I'm an apisto noob so I'm not sure at all.

I'm having a touch of trouble getting my GH down. I bought an R.O. filter and started using it 60/40 (40tap) in my weekly changes long before I got apistos. I had it down to 6 DGH (however many ppm 6 drops is) but it's recently (since adding the apistos) gone back up to 11 DGH (11 drops). I thought maybe this was affecting their colouring up, but otherwise they seem happy. They're tail-wooshing lots and the male is doing fantastic vertical displays... I'm very happy with them... but want to know what they are! Any ideas out there?

Thanks!

(photo 1: male neutral mood, photo 2: female neutral mood, photo 3: male neutralish... the rest are of the male or male and female doing their thang...)

Attachments

• IMG_1536.jpg
    IMG_1536.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 566
  • IMG_1446.jpg
    IMG_1446.jpg
    304.1 KB · Views: 604
  • IMG_1658.jpg
    IMG_1658.jpg
    441 KB · Views: 551
  • IMG_1668.jpg
    IMG_1668.jpg
    117.6 KB · Views: 515
  • IMG_1727.jpg
    IMG_1727.jpg
    185.8 KB · Views: 522
  • IMG_1732.jpg
    IMG_1732.jpg