• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto survival rate

Don cheech

Question:
What’s the longest lifespan you personally have gotten out of your Apisto’s.
Have most of you had success with keeping them for many years.
I read somewhere that a study was done and only 8% survival rate at two years can this be possible?
I personally have had bad luck with keeping them and I’m hoping that my latest set up is going to work. If it doesn’t I’m going to throw in the towel and it’s upsetting because they are my most favorite Fish of all I’m no expert but not a beginner either.

MacZ

I read somewhere that a study was done and only 8% survival rate at two years can this be possible?
It is widely known fish in general lay dozens to thousands of eggs and only a handful survives into adulthood. I don't know whether said study was on wild or tank populations, so it might be more in captivity.
Then again considering how many fish are already on their last legs when sold in retail and how often fish come done sick after only a couple of months or short of a year after purchase by a home aquarist, it is possible the number also fits captive fish.
I'd estimate the average life expectancy for farmed, massproduced fish of a domestic strain at 1-2 years. Some species some more, some less.