• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

T. candidi brood, artificial raising question

krib

Hi,

My T. candidi pair had 6 spaws, all of which were gone in 3 days at most, so I decided to try artificial raising this time. I put the coco cave in a floating breeder box in the parents' tank. After 8 days or so the fry detached from the coco shell and started moving around. (At least I know the problem was not water parameters nor the father being infertile)

This is my first time artificially raising any cichlid fry so I am a bit worried. The fry are too skittish and jump from one place to another, and do not seem interested in the food. I gave them some freshwater rotifer (B. calycflorus) which I have been culturing using green water, as well as some BBS (Great Salt Lake strain, maybe too large?) and saw no feeding response. The egg yolks seem to be gone and I fear the fry may starve. I expected they would not exhibit their normal herd-feeding behaviour without the mother , but I also expected them to at least pick at the rotifers at their noses. I added some moss to the box. The box has grills lined with filter floss to allow for water exchange.

So, any suggestions on artificial raising? Or T. candidi specific advice? Al input is welcome.

If you would like to see the parents, here is the link about them;
http://www.apistogramma.com/forum/t...didi-pair-agression-problem.18406/#post-88134

Thank you

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member