• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Sick female apistogramma cacatouide please help

AberdeenRicki1985

Hey guys looking for some advice.

Yesterday my female cacatuoides was a little less active yesterday.
I have observed her and removed to a fry net today with her hide and some java moss for a bit of privacy as the neons were starting to get rough.

She is still swimming but incredibly slow and keeps resting on her side at the bottom. She isnt gasping and has no visible injuries or signs of infection to me but I'm new to this species.

Water stats , ph7. 0 amonia and nitrite, 5ppm nitrate, water soft and a temp of 25degress C. I have attached a few photos and a video as reference. I dont have a second tank to isolate her so I am concerned if I should humanely put her to sleep or give her a fighting chance in the mean time and hope.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks Ricki

Attachments

• 20201026_162037.jpg
    20201026_162037.jpg
    1,000 KB · Views: 180
  • 20201026_162026.jpg
    20201026_162026.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 181
  • 20201026_163131.jpg
    20201026_163131.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 193

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
I think she has Dropsy and unfortunately I can't hold out much hope for her. She looks more like A. trifasciata, although I'm particularly poor at ID ing fish.

cheers Darrel

MacZ

I agree with dw1305.