• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Mouth wide open, not looking good.

barcod21

Hello, I got a male and female MacMasteri Gold / Red a little over a month ago from the LFS. I wasn't quite ready for them as I am in the process of setting up a 40 gallon tank but had been looking for Apistos which I haven't found in locally and really liked the color of these. I was certain they wouldn't be around by the time I got my 40 setup and decided to go for it. I currently only have a 5 gallon setup with 2 Red Eye Tetras, 1 African Dwarf Frog, 2 Mystery snails and a Plecostomus that is about 6" long. They actually adapted very well, there has been no aggression with other fish and actually made the Tetras less shy. Everything had been going great and they even paired up and there were a bunch of reddish pink eggs in a hollow rock on Sunday May 26th. After about 3 days all of the eggs had been eaten, I assume the plecostomus ate most of them and the female apisto finished them off. She left the rock after that but started going back in the rock at night the last 2 nights. I assume she might be ready to lay more eggs?

Yesterday when I got home from work, my male is near the top of the tank, his mouth is wide open and and his gills are opening and closing at a very fast rate. I fed the tank and he did eat a some. His mouth doesn't completely close but does move a little. He didn't eat much though. He did poop after that and it appears normal (can see in the picture). I tested the water with the API Master Test kit and was as follows;

PH 7.4
Amonia 0
Nitrite 0