• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Literature

A

angulo

hallo

i look for the best book about South American Dwarf Cichlids. i have some knowledge about some of them :

1. South American Cichlids II (AQUALOG-Reference Books)
Ulrich Glaser, Wolfgang Glaser

2. South American Dwarf Cichlids
Hans J. Mayland and Dieter Bork

3. American Cichlids I - Dwarf Cichlids
Horst Linke and Dr. Wolfgang Staeck

4. Cichlid Atlas
Dr. Uwe Römer

5. Cichlids of Central America
Konings, Ad

which one has the most usefull informations and best photos. may be you are able to suggest me better one?

thanks
angulo

aspen

5 Year Member
i own the cichlid atlas by uwe romer and it is an excellent book- a must have for dwarf cichlid keepers imo.

rick

Rolo

5 Year Member
Hi,

hey, all authors are german *g* ... do you have no good own authors?

Römer is of course a "must have" for Apistogramma fans, but it have several mistakes or errors and it's no longer up to date, because it is about 6 years old and many newer species are missing. But anyway it is very good to look for some details quickly, but you get you know, what to believe or not and you have to reflect all infos (as usual).

Linke & Staeck is a very nice book with good pictures and Infos, but there are less species in it and it is a bit older, too.

Very up to date is the book from Ingo Koslowski, but I don't know, if it is available in english. But is is a book to read from start to end, not to look for something, like Römer's book. Unfortunately there have been some problems with the scans of the pictures, so many pictures are bad. But nevertheless it's recommendable.