• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is my Cacatuoides orange male or female?

Josefine

Hi, I’m Josefine from Sweden. I’m new to fish keeping but my husband has some experience.

We recently bought what we thought was a young cacatuoides pair (that’s what we were told at the store). We introduced them to our aquarium that night and sadly, the following morning one of them died. (Every other fish in the tank is OK and still is. Water parameters are fine.)

We never really got the time to have a proper look at the new pair since they were hiding first and then it was night. So we are not exactly sure which one that died. We think the one remaining is a Female but would really appreciate some of your expertise. The fish is young, not quite two inches long.
Thank you so much in advance.

84CA64E4-B076-4185-893E-25A6CD978BC4.jpeg
3324B4AD-7FF5-4222-8100-C092D05D9EB4.jpeg

Josefine

Hi all,

I'm pretty poor at both sexing and identification, but probably female for me.

cheers Darrel
Thank you for your reply!
We were just at the LFS and asked for help with sexing before buying one more fish. The person we talked to turned out to be an Apisto breeder we haven’t met him before. He said it probably is a young male we have so we bought a female. I guess we will just have to wait and see how this one matures but better two females than two males I guess. Then we can always buy a mature male later.

anewbie

I would lean toward male just because of the amount of colour in the fin. I haven't seen any female cockatoo with that much colouring....

tolstoy21