• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

How to acclimate apistogramma (ordered online)?

hongyj

Hi all,

I've ordered 2 pairs of apistogramma quad reds online that are expected to arrive on tuesday. I'm not sure how to acclimate them because I'm scared of losing the fish. They were really expensive and it's my first time ordering online so I'm unsure how to acclimate them properly. I've seen conflicting reports online, some people swear by drip acclimation method and others swear by plop and drop method. I'm not sure which one to use. Since the fish will be stressed from shipping they will be stressed and will have ammonium in the bag that will convert into ammonia upon opening, both methods seem to have an argument for them yet I'm still unsure.

tldr: how should i acclimate apistos that I ordered online?

MacZ

Both methods are valid depending on the situation:

Always ask the seller for TDS and pH of the water they keep and ship the fish in.

If the TDS of their and your tankwater are more than 100mg/l apart or the pH difference is more than 1.5 pH-points, do drip.

If the differences are less than 50mg/l or less than 0.5 pH-points do plop&drop. Then the water is almost identical in those regards.
Same goes if the fish are obviously stressed and struggling in the unopened bag. Then it's an emergency in which case getting them in clean water is more important than stressless acclimation. In such a case losses have to be expected to a degree, though.

So it boils down to the situation, not a principle really. You should be prepared to do both.
Ideally you want a stressfree acclimation. But not every situation allows for that.