• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help with pencilfish on new nano tank setup

rogero

Hi all,

I'm a beginner setting up a 7 gallon planted tank originally with the idea of keeping only a pair of apisto.

However, I learned that it may be better to add pencilfish as dither so that male won't be too aggressive to the female.

Thus, I introduced 6 beckfordi var red to the tank before I want to add the apisto.
However, while the pencilfish hangs out in the open and in front of the tank most of the time and is not afraid of me staring at them, they looks skittish to me.
Any accidental tap on the tank with a metal tweezer will send into a frenzy dash that looks like knocking onto the glass.

The other livestock currently in the tank is 1 red spotted nerite and 1 horned nerite.

My questions are
1) I have problem feeding them
with slow sinking micro pellets, only those that drop directly in front of them, they will eat, else, the food will go into the gravel substrate.
with flakes, it will float around till it sink as they need a long time finding the food
So, how and what should I feed them with?

2) should I introduce other tank mates too? particularly otocinclus?

3) is the tank ready to introduce the apisto with the dither fish in the current condition?
if not, until what conditions are observed do I know the tank is ready?

I'm not looking for a particular species of apisto, but rather a pair with the best behavior towards each other available.
However, if there is any species that I should look into, please feel free to suggest.

Thanks.

MacZ