• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Got these two, hoping for some help with sexing

Taylei

Hi! I am new to this, and got these two Apistogrammas (sold as agassizii). I think they’re both female? Was just wondering for some help.

The one in the second picture will turn darker from time to time, and the first picture is definitely the aggressor in any “disagreements” they have. But I also see them swimming next to each other sometimes, and the second one will flare and almost look like showing off.

Attachments

• 6AD51B0F-6331-463F-A1EE-9C9D17637BE7.jpeg
    6AD51B0F-6331-463F-A1EE-9C9D17637BE7.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 125
  • DE2E9BB5-E6DC-43DB-B3CF-A157A88C6600.jpeg
    DE2E9BB5-E6DC-43DB-B3CF-A157A88C6600.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 130

MacZ

Both males and look like agassizii.
I agree.
The one in the second picture will turn darker from time to time, and the first picture is definitely the aggressor in any “disagreements” they have. But I also see them swimming next to each other sometimes, and the second one will flare and almost look like showing off.
Normal behaviour. Depending on your tank size and how it's structured you might have to separate them soon.
Whatever you do, don't add a female now, that would escalate quickly.

Taylei

I agree.

Normal behaviour. Depending on your tank size and how it's structured you might have to separate them soon.
Thank you! It’s a 44 gal, I’m actually about to add more spider wood to it. They’re generally okay, it’s just every once in awhile that the second chases the other one. They tend to stay in their own areas.