• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Female or male cockatoo??

huntermac

Hello, I am brand new to both aspistos and this forum so please bare with me lol. My local fish store sold me this pair of cockatoos 4 days ago and after much research I see that many people get "sneaker males". Their behavior is as follows; they will be next to each other peacefully for a few moments, then the male will flare his fins and gills, do a sort of tail slap at her until she swims away and then chase her, looks like he tries to nip her tail, then he lets her swim off. Then the process continues and this goes on all day. Is this normal behavior? Attached is a photo of the pair. Please let me know what you think!! Thank you!

IMG-3560.PNG

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Normal behaviour if they are male and female, and that is certainly what they look like.

He is try to look as big and impressive as possible, and presumably wafting pheromones at her, she looks like she will be receptive fairly soon.

cheers Darrel

Last edited:

huntermac

Hi all,
Normal behaviour if they are male and female, and that is certainly what they look like.

He is try yo look as big and impressive as possible, and presumably wafting pheromones at her, she looks like she will be receptive fairly soon.

cheers Darrel

Darrel,
Awesome! Thank you for the reply I have been watching them every chance I get while im home because i did not want him to be hurting her or something lol.

huntermac

Welcome to the sight huntermac,
Do you have any caves or coconut shell in with them for her to breed in?