• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Feeding the mother Apistos, postpartum (after birth) while with the fry

Robi

Hello everyone,

I am new to the beautiful world of Apistogrammas and definitively new to this forum. So far bred succesfully about 4-5 species of Apistos (Cacatuoides x2, Bitaeniata, Aggies, Rio Mamores). I have noticed that the mother, while taking care of her brood, is taking a considerable amount of BBS and other food I feed to the fry, yet, still hungry. I also noticed, that if I feed the mama's additionally to this, mainly frozen BS and sometimes few bites of small size frozen BW (which I decided to stop recently) they easily develop constipation, I even lost one of my favorite double females from acute bloat, related to this issue.

I would like to ask you guys, who breed Apistos regularly, do you feed the mother postpartum while with the fry, or just let her feed on the BBS and micro-worms, or whatever the fry gets?

Thanks for the answers,

Robi

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
I just feed all my apistos mostly BBS, be they fry or adults. If the female needs more food, just feed more BBS. Better yet, feed the same but add an additional feeding for both mom and the kids.

Larry Rogers

5 Year Member
Hello everyone,