• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Easiest / hardiest dwarf cichlid to raise

Sorry I been blowing up the forum with questions lol. My tank is just about ready ( I was able to get some filter media from my LFS to speed up the cycle . Now just about ready to pick out my dwarf cichlids . What would your recommendations be on the hardiest / easiest to keep? Being im a beginner still . Thank you so much in advance

MacZ

Sorry, can't be answered. Too many things factoring in:

- genetics: domestic strain (bad) vs. tankbred/wild (average) type vs. wild caught (stable)
- source: reputable breeder/importer (good) vs. LFS (average) vs. big box store (bad)
- habitat: whitewater (easy) vs. clearwater (average) vs. blackwater (hard)
- social behaviour: pairing vs. harem vs. casual polygamy
- tank: well structured/tailored to the species vs. display vs. community

It takes one factor to tip the scale from easy to hard or even impossible in an instant.

Ben Rhau

Apisto Club
If I recall, you have one 10-gallon tank and were looking to get a single male apisto, correct? Male borellii look great and check a lot of boxes. If you don't include females, most males generally won't be aggressive toward non-apisto fish, so you could try most of the commonly available species (macmasteri, cacatouides, hongsloi, trifasciata) and be fine with just that one male. I wouldn't recommend agassizii, which tends to like softer water.

I personally think the wild type fish look best for all these species. And as noted above, likely have better genetics.

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Another vote got Apistogramma borellii. In a larger tank A. macmasteri?