• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Best apistogramma for community tank

lucam

Hi guys,

I'm new to apistos and interesting in adding one to my community tank. I'm trying to understand whether I could do this with a reasonably low chance of aggression, and if yes which species would be best.

My tanks is an ADA 90P, 48 gallons and three feet long. It's heavily planted with driftwood and several caves.

Other occupants would be:
3 Pearl Gourami (1M/2F)
3 Peacock Gudgeons (1M/2F)
10 Emperor Tetras
12 Glowlight Danios (considering pulling these into another tank and replacing with Espei Rasboras)
6 Panda Cories
5 Otos
10 Amanos

I'm considering adding one male apisto and was leaning towards macmasteri but also open to cacatuoides or other options.

Does this seem like a good plan, or would there be too many territorial fish? Is macmasteri more aggressive than cacatuoides?

Appreciate the help!

MacZ

I think it's best to turn the question around:
What is an acceptable level of aggression to you?

I'm assuming the way you phrase your question and what fish you are keeping at the moment, one thing is pretty certain: You will neither want to get a pair/trio nor a same-sex group of any apisto that can stand it's ground in your tank. (stand its ground means: Not getting outcompeted. Apistos are bottom dwellers, so the food has to get past two grouos of greedily feeding shoaling fish right now and preferably without overfeeding the tank as a whole.)