• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Beginner Apistos

summoner2183

Guys, just a question here... I am fairly new to Apistos, and if I were to try and keep them as a beginner, what species would you recommend I start with? Could you give me a Top 5 List of what you consider to be beginner Apistos? THanks.

papasmurf

5 Year Member
Cacatuoides is probably the easiest for most beginners...a few others though not in any particular order and partly based on availability and how "domesticated" they are in the hobby.

borelli, trifasciata, agassizi, macmasteri

I had really good luck with my first apisto which was steindachneri. I have really hard, alkaline tap water where I live and most apisto's I have kept in straight tap water have not fared too well (apart from cacatuoides) so I have kept most of the others I listed in RO water. I did have some success keeping alacrina in harder water and there may be others that do okay too if you have less than ideal water conditions but since I got an RO unit I don't chance it anymore.

mixmixi

I believe most apistos including cacatuoides require same level of care. The fact is there is no such thing called a 2begginer apistos" as you are talking about a living animal. It is like you say what is a beginner "dog" to start with? However, there are a certain forms of apistogramma which have been domesticated and thus they are "cheaper" to start with and cacatuoides is one of the cheapest ones and most available ones to start with. However, in my personal experience any apistos from trifasciata linegae (which includes cacatuoides complex) are relatively more sensitive from some other groups. :)