• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogrammoides Pucallpaensis

Little10Lachie

Hi everyone

I'm looking for advice on keeping/breeding Apistogrammoides Pucallpaensis as I am a beginner when it comes to Apistogramma and have heard that the Apistogrammoides are in the difficult category when it comes to breeding, Also can't find much information on them.

My main questions are:
Will fry eat Hiraki first bites and baby brine shrimp?

Will be in a 15 Gallon tank with water parameters of TDS: 126, PH: 5.82, KH: 0: GH 2-3 be okay?

What Makes them more difficult than other Apisto's?

Will adults be able to eat whole or cut up earthworms?

And is there anything else important that i should know before buying?

Thanks Lachlan

apistobob

5 Year Member
This is just a bit of the information I've included in my article about A. pucallpaensis

"I’ve found these beautiful fish to be a fairly difficult species to keep in the aquarium. They can be very aggressive, pair bonding can be difficult, many females are poor brooders, and the fry are smaller than most dwarf cichlids. I maintained them for 8 – 10 years and rarely did I have a large spawn. That said, as long as I met their needs I never had any problem with aquarium care and breeding.