• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma viejita from LFS?

_bsafarijoe

Hi guys! My name is Berg, I’m a studying ichthyologist from Colorado (most of my work is with freshwater gobies in the genus Stiphodon). I have found myself stumped so I made an account and want a second opinion. Yesterday I sold my LFS some plants and my friend there gave me a pair of (supposedly) Apistogramma viejita instead of cash! I have little experience with dwarf cichlids (I had kribs once but I was not successful in breeding them) but I have good experience with Central American cichlids as well as Africans in the past so I thought why not. I was so excited and almost skipped out the door! But after doing some research I wasn’t so convinced on the species. I don’t blame my LFS, wholesalers rarely get it right, but I’d love to find out what they are. They are both gorgeous and the male is already dancing and has picked a cave! Attached are the best photos I could get of both of em, what do you think they are?

Attachments

• 5B409780-6550-437A-920A-42AF297000DF.png
    5B409780-6550-437A-920A-42AF297000DF.png
    3.1 MB · Views: 164
  • 1D816AE3-C60A-4C78-9E2E-C76F0917C4A7.png
    1D816AE3-C60A-4C78-9E2E-C76F0917C4A7.png
    2.6 MB · Views: 169

Aquaticloch

Welcome to the site! You have some very nice fish, but they definitely are not viejita but a beautiful apisto pair nonetheless. A better photo of the male may help in identifying them.

MacZ

Yes, this is the most popular Apistogramma species, and relatively easy to keep and breed. The wild forms are less common in the hobby, but the most beautiful, in my opinion.